The Pact – Jodi Picoult

For the “Book I haven’t read since High School” category, I went The Pact. Honestly, the choice was made when I was sifting through a dust-ridden box filled with my books that have been packed away for my entire 2 years in the USA. I picked it up and remembered enjoying the ending, which is rare for me. The more books I read, the more I am increasingly frustrated by the endings. Seriously?! Are the authors bored by the end so they just type and hope it makes sense? That was mean. I’m sorry. I know it’s hard work.

Moving on then. The Pact is a story about 2 families: the Harts and the Golds. They are neighbors for years, their children are raised together and grow up like siblings. This friendship eventually turns into young love. One night, both sets of parents receive a phonecall that will take them down the most harrowing journey of their lives. Dum dum duuuuum!

While I certainly didn’t love everything about this novel, I did enjoy the style of writing. In “Justine”-terms, it was easy enough to read while falling asleep, but not so easy that I was bored. If I could only read one book for the rest of my life, this would not be it. If I could recommend a book about impossible choices and dynamic relationships, this would be a top-contender.

In general I find that Jodi Picoult makes you care about characters that make stupid decisions and behave poorly. That’s also the beauty about her writing. She is able to suck you in without trying very hard. Ugh.

 

 

Image Source – New York Times, retrieved 2017

Leave a Reply

