The Phantom Tollbooth – Norton Juster

My reading challenge asked me to pick a book “that’s guaranteed to bring me joy”. The choices were endless, but the actual selection took no time at all. My first interaction with The Phantom Tollbooth was when it was gifted to me by a close friend. This friend is the kind of friend where your friendship is based on love and a mutual respect teasing. Naturally, I would never tell him that the present he gave me quickly became one of my favorite books. Anyone who knows me will tell you that I’m sarcastic, witty and love a good play on words. This book contains ALL of the above and more! This is just as much a treat for adults as it is for children.

The Phantom Tollbooth is a story about Milo, a bored young boy. He is uninterested in the world around him, school and just life in general. One day a package arrives for him containing the Tollbooth. He drives through it simply due to boredom. This starts the greatest adventure of his life.

This is a clever, playful little book filled with enough words and numbers to fascinate your senses. The characters are almost Pixar-like and there is just enough adventure to mesh perfectly with all the words.

Guaranteed joy every time.

Image Source – Random House

Leave a Reply

