Destination Seychelles

I realised that I haven’t posted about traveling yet. Today I found myself wishing for the crystalline beaches of the Seychelles. So that’s what you get today.

I went to the Seychelles in 2014 to visit my grandmother. Yes, you read that correctly. My grandmother is a missionary in the Seychelles. Her house is directly across the street from one of the best snorkeling spots I’ve ever been to. We spent everyday at the beach, either swimming or snorkeling. Wouldn’t you?

IMG_2560.jpg
Across the street!

My grandmother lives in Victoria which is on the island of Mahé. Victoria also happens to be the capital. There is a cool clocktower that tourists like to flock around. We spent a good amount of time in the markets. The cinnamon had me intrigued for ages!

IMG_9915.JPG

After a few days milling about the beaches near my grandma’s house, we took a boat to the island of Praslin. The boat ride was the worst of my life. A man was experiencing some seasickness and ran to the front of the boat to get sick off the side. However, the boat was moving at such a speed that everything that went over flew back onto the deck onto all the passengers. I will spare you the details. Just know that my stepmother and I spent the rest of the boat ride washing our hair in the bathroom sink.

Moving on. We arrived in Praslin a little dinged up, but still alive. We went straight to the hotel and once we were feeling better about life in general, we went out for dinner. I’m not sure if it was the restaurants we ate at or if I was put off from food at that point, but I found the food in the Seychelles to be really bland. I loved the view, loved the people, loved the adventure and hated the food.

The next day, we saw some giant tortoises (Is that the plural? It is, I just looked it up)IMG_0271.JPG

IMG_0110.JPG
They are adorable!

We also went hiking in the Vallée de Mai Nature Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage Site). It was incredibly hot and humid so I would highly recommend taking a hat, sunscreen and loads of water. It was also incredibly beautiful. There are jackfruit trees which were exciting for us because we had heard our dad speak about jackfruit for years, but never seen it ourselves. The reserve is also famous for the coco-de-mer trees. There is an entrance fee though, so if you don’t like trees and small animals and forests, don’t go.

Next we took another boat to La Digue. La Digue quickly became my favourite island. It’s very small, so most people choose to travel around it by bicycle. You can’t go wrong with any of the beaches in La Digue and the locals are usually friendly enough to point you in the direction of the nearest one. IMG_2653.jpg

IMG_0295.JPG
La Digue

Ugh, look at that water. Seychelles was the first place I ever snorkeled (and subsequently fell in love with snorkeling), however, no place has lived up to the Seychelles since then. The water was so clear that my dad and stepmom didn’t need to snorkel with us in order to see half of what we were seeing. After walking around the island in the heat (have I mentioned the heat already?), we climbed up a hill which was torture. However, on the other side of the hill there was a man making fresh fruit juice and smoothies outside his house. All he had was a simple blender and a wide selection of fruit. Obviously, we all bought one and sat down soaking in the refreshment. This man is so clever. He knows all the tourists walk/cycle that hill and end up being tired and in need of libations on the other side. Clever clever.

IMG_0320.JPG
After the hill, this looks like an oasis

Go to the Seychelles, spend 80% of your time in the water and then spend on a fortune on food because food is expensive and you’ll be starving. However, if you have snorkel gear, most of your activities will be free.

This place is genuinely one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to (and I’m from Cape Town so you know that means something!). It’s definitely worth a trip!

One thought on “Destination Seychelles

Leave a Reply

