Destination Las Vegas

IMG_5125.jpg

We became fast friends and discovered that we enjoyed the little day trips around the Bay Area. We agreed that we should take a long holiday together once a year. For our first trip, we decided upon Las Vegas. I’m not really sure how we decided this but neither of us had been and it seemed like a good place to go. We started searching for flights and discovered that there were some great deals in September. After very little searching, we had booked our holiday to Las Vegas. Our package included flights, hotel, tickets to a Cirque du Soleil show and a discounted meal.

The week of our trip to Las Vegas had arrived. We sat excitedly in SFO, chatting about what we would do once we arrived. On the flight, the lady next to me sneezed once. I caught her cold. Typical.

We arrived in Las Vegas at 9pm, the weather was 90 degrees Fahrenheit. As we sat sweating in the parking lot, we were told that our shuttle was running. We waited patiently for an hour while everyone around us complained to the manager. Eventually, after all the complainers had been placed on shuttles, the manager came and personally apologised. She was terribly sorry that we had waited so long, but grateful that we had done so patiently. She also informed us that she had sent for a limousine to take us to our hotel in reward for our patience and time. If that isn’t a sign for an awesome holiday, I don’t know what is. We were booked into the MGM Grand, so that’s where we arrived -tired but excited. We also fell asleep.

The next morning we awoke bright and cheery, well Ayako was cheery. I was sick and miserable, but determined not to miss out on anything. Our plan for the first day was to explore the hotel and spend some time at the pool(s). IMG_5102.jpg

IMG_5088.jpg
Look at me pretending like I don’t feel like death

It was hot and the pool was a blessed relief. I spent most of the day floating around the lazy river in my tube and glaring at anyone who interrupted my serenity.

That night we went to a buffet for dinner (because Vegas). It was called the Wicked Spoon in the Cosmopolitan Hotel. It was everything we dreamed it would be and more. After spending hours in the sunshine, we were starved. Wicked Spoon could not have had more options for us. It was not your typical buffet with everything in large vats that look unappealing. Everything was in personal portions, including the mini Chinese takeout boxes and the fried chicken in the mini fryers with the syringe of maple syrup. And the dessert…

IMG_4947.jpg
Just one of the many dessert displays

Ayako and I crawled back to the room and crashed. The next morning I woke up feeling worse than the day before but even more determined to push through. A little cold never killed anybody. We walked around the strip in the 110 degree heat. My “little cold” felt like a death sentence in that heat. We ate lunch at 800 degrees. I was excited about eating there before we had arrived and I was not disappointed. I haven’t been to Italy yet, but I think that’s what their pizza is like.

I believe we tried clubbing once or twice in Vegas, but the clubs were so busy we could barely breathe. We had previously contacted a club promoter who got our name on the VIP list, along with free coupons. We were tired from being busy all through the day, I was sick and Ayako hated trying to dance while squished so we abandoned the club idea just as quickly as we picked up the club idea.

The shows were so much more fulfilling for us! We saw “KA” and “Vegas”. Before “Vegas”, the seating attended approached us and informed us that there were two empty seats in closer to the front and would we like those instead? Uhh…YES! “Vegas” was amazing, but “KA” was something else entirely. I spent the entire show with my jaw hanging open and then spent hours after the show discussing what we thought the show was about.IMG_0772.JPG

IMG_4991.jpgIMG_5031.jpg

IMG_5068.jpg
Chocolate fountain in the Bellagio

As far as food goes, Las Vegas is a food-lovers paradise. I won’t bore you with all the details, but my favourite buffet was the breakfast buffet at the Bellagio. My favourite restaurants were Lupo by Wolfgang Puck and Table 10 by Emeril Lagasse. In my usual fashion, I couldn’t decide what I wanted to eat at Table 10, so I ordered the tasting menu. I have never been so full or satisfied at a restaurant since! All dishes were creole-inspired. Bonus: it was budget-friendly.

Ayako and I also took a day-trip to the Grand Canyon. We wish we could’ve had more time there but we didn’t have those extra days and desperately wanted to see it. You can read all about that experience here.

All-in-all, Las Vegas did not disappoint two girls who love travel, food and theatre. The hotels on the strip are an attraction on their own. We spent hours wandering around Caesar’s Palace and the Venetian. I would devote an entire day (if not more) to meander around the Strip. Don’t waste your meals eating at the same place twice. We literally never had a bad meal in Vegas.

We didn’t gamble, party or get married, but we had a wonderful time in Las Vegas. IMG_5337.jpg

IMG_5307.jpg
Inside the Venetian
Leave a Reply

