Bossypants – Tina Fey

This week I realised that I will not get through my reading challenge unless I pick up the pace. I am studying for my Masters and working and sometimes I think that I chose the wrong year to do this challenge (rant over!) Usually I am opposed to audiobooks. It’s a personal vendetta that stems from my inability to pay attention.

Listening comprehensions in school? Struggled through them miserably.

Audiobooks are like listening comprehensions that you pay for. Yet, my lack of time has forced me into a corner. I used one of my free Audible credits to pay for Bossypants by Tina Fey. I figured that since it was Tina Fey, it might make the listening process a little eaiser. I listened to the audiobook while I was driving, washing dishes, baking and while I was just pottering around. I had to rewind relatively often because of my tendancy to “zone out”. BUT, I finished it. So there’s that. Any antsy people like me who can’t pay attention?

Onto the memoir itself. Tina is funny. We know this, or she wouldn’t have had such a successful run on SNL. I first heard about Tina Fey when I watched Mean Girls (don’t laugh). Bossypants runs through random stories from Tina’s past such has her friendship with lesbians much older than her and the time that she made her dad angry in the supermarket. She embellishes with her “Tina-isms” which I find hilarious, but I know that some people don’t. She links a good chunk of her content to the fact that people always ask her how she stays so successful as a woman and a mother. Bossypants reminds me of Mindy Kaling’s book. Which doesn’t make sense because Bossypants was written first. I digress.

There were definitely laugh-out-loud moments while listening to the audiobook. This book will probably not help you grow as a person or teach you how to be a comedian. It will give you a good chuckle. If you don’t know much about Tina Fey, but enjoy hearing short stories and anecdotes, you would probably enjoy this book too!

Image source

Leave a Reply

